Skip to content

Planning for Nanjing

September 19, 2011

This blog is now launched in preparation for my Spring 2012 semester at Nanjing Normal University in China, where I will be teaching American Literature as a Fulbright Lecturer.  During that time, I will be on leave from my position as member of the Auburn University English Department faculty.

Updates on my plans for the trip will be followed by regular updates and reflections about my living and teaching experiences in China.  Right now, the main news is that I’m studying Mandarin Chinese conversation for a few hours each day in order to have some basic conversational skills by the end of this year.  I’ve made some good progress over the past few months, but it’s clear that I won’t be anything like fluent by the time I get to work in Nanjing.  On the other hand, it’s somewhat reassuring that there are hundreds of millions of Chinese who study English, and so I hope that there will be new friends along the way who can help with the language side of things.

For those who are curious, I’ve been studying Mandarin Chinese with the help of the excellent and much-recommended Pimsleur self-teaching program, and I’ve been quite pleased with the results so far.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

